Better way to fix and Incomplete entry?

Hello All,

I’m in the process of migrating from RefWorks to Paperpile. I’m a PhD student in the beginning stages of dissertation-writing, so I really want to get my workflow and reference management sorted out from the beginning. So far I’m really liking Paperpile.

I am having a problem with creating new entries, however, and I’m not sure if I’m doing something wrong. When I import a PDF, the information for the entry will often be incomplete. And I’m trying to figure out a way to make them complete and correct without having to just type everything manually. I’ve tried:

1. importing the full reference as RIS and then merging the two duplicates. I was hoping that this would merge full metadata with the PDF, but instead I just get the PDF with incomplete metadata.
  2. Opening the entry using the Paperpile link in Google Scholar — I thought it might notice that the Google scholar entry has information that’s missing from the existing entry, but it doesn’t.

Is there really no other option than manually typing? Or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks!

Hi, Karen, welcome to PP! Please provide the citation as an exemplar. My understanding, based on my experience as a user, is that different websites have different amounts of metadata. What I have found is the best way to get the most metadata is to search for the paper on GS, and then click the PP button. Apparently, somehow GS is able to find the sites with the most metadata (which PP then picks up).

Then you can use any of various methods to attach the pdf to the PP database entry - upload from your PC, auto download, google search, or navigate to the website, click on the PP icon, and add to the PP entry.

Okay, thank you. I was trying to save time by uploading a bunch of PDFs, but it looks like it’s better to create the entry first from a source with good metadata, then upload the PDF.