Open request for a public roadmap

Dear Stefan-

I’m a long-time Paperpile user. Paperpile is a great product. I love it and have recommended it to many. That won’t change.

However, I’m also frustrated. I come to the forum site periodically to check on questions or bugs, and often leave disappointed. The root cause of my frustration is that the forum response is almost always some version of “We know. We’re working on it. No ETA.” Some requests are marked “planned” or “active”, suggesting that we might see progress soon, but then languish for years. Nearly all of the bugs and features I’ve cared about have not been addressed or delivered. (Examples: Why is it taking so long to get an Android app? What’s the status of duplicate merging?)

I’m not the only one with this frustration. e.g., Paperpile development progress).

As an engineering manager, I know that roadmaps are extremely difficult to build and that committing publicly is daunting. However, roadmaps are an essential part of communicating priorities and setting expectations with your customers.

So, I request that you create a public roadmap so that customers understand what you’re focusing on, what your not focusing on, and when we might expect delivery on issues that are important to us. Airtable or Trello would be great options.

Again, thanks for the great product. I look forward to improvements in both the product and the communication about it.

-Reece

6 Likes

Hi Reece,
Thanks for this post. I’ve already addressed most of those issues throughout this forum in different contexts.

The problem with public roadmaps at this stage is that progress is not linear and progress does not always map to public features.

We are in the process to transform Paperpile from a webapp to a multiplatform solution. You can already test Paperpile on iOS, Android and our Word plugin on macOS.